7 Chakras and How to Detox Your Body

The chakra system is a collection of energy points within the human body.   The word chakra originates from Sanskrit word meaning "wheel".   Though there are known to be 114 total chakras in the body, the seven chakras are considered to be our key energy points.  By balancing your chakras you can become one with your body, increasing your overall health.  The seven chakras are:

1. Root Chakra-Muladhara

Location: Base of the spine, tailbone

Color: Red

Imbalances:  Constipation, problems in legs, feet, immune system, knee pain, and eating disorders.  Anxiety disorder, fears, nightmares, spaciness, "out of touch" with reality.  

Purpose: To feel rooted, secure, 

2. Sacral Chakra-Svadhishana

Location:  Between base of the spine and navel

Color: Orange

Imbalances: Compulsive thinking, decreased sex drive, lack of creativity, depression, addiction, gluttony, hormone imbalances

Purpose: Finding balance in life's enjoyments such as sex, food, and creativity without "overdoing it"  Nourishing the soul and body in a positive way.  Connecting to your creative side and self-expression.

3. Solar Plexus - Manipura 

Location- gut, starting from belly button up to breastbone

Color: Yellow

Imbalances: insecurity, quick to anger, lack of compassion and empathy, indecisiveness, lack of direction in life.  

Purpose: Feeling a sense of purpose, confident, decisiveness, personal power. 

4. Heart-Anahata

Location: chest

Color: Green

Imbalances: Lack of personal boundaries-putting others needs before your own, palpitations, fast heart rate, interpersonal relationship issues, feeling out of touch with your body, resistance towards a personal relationship.

Purpose: self-love, treating others the way you would like to be treated, less judgment towards others, equal love for all